And Then She Graduated

IMG_9469

She did it! Our girl graduated from UNCG with honors and has already landed a job in her field. I am amazed (but not surprised) at these accomplishments.

After spending years preparing my heart for sending her off to college, it is odd how quickly it seems to have happened and is over. (I realize we weren’t simply preparing for college, but for adulthood.) Yet when I think over the past four years, and the growth, skill and maturity she’s gained through hard work, experiences and making decisions for herself, not to mention the excellent “pouring into” she’s received from School of Education professors and mentor teachers, I can see clearly that it really did happen, and it took more than the blink of an eye.

How do I feel? So proud – so happy for her. There are tears of joy and prayers of gratitude. And while her degree and job offer are noteworthy and cause for celebration, there are more important reasons I’m proud of this woman.

I’m proud of the way she loves.

I’m proud of the way she perseveres.

I’m proud of the way she sets her sights (and wisely adjusts, when needed).

I’m proud of her confidence, and her humility.

I’m proud of the way she follows Christ.

This girl is on fire.
This girl is a firework.

 

 

One thought on “And Then She Graduated

Add yours

  1. Amazing writing and insight into what’simportant in life and in one’s children.

    Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑